Layered Taco Salad

2 lbs ground turkey (or you can use 1 lb. I used 2 because I was also making plain tacos for the kids)

1 pkg Taco Bell Chipolte Taco Seasoning

1 cup water

1 can (15 oz) pinto, dark red kidney, or light red kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 bunch green onions with tops, chopped

1 large tomato, seeded and diced

1 medium, ripe avocado, chopped

1/2 cup Catalina dressing

1 cup sour cream

1 pkg dry Ranch mix

1 cup salsa

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1 pkg shredded lettuce

4 cups corn chips

In a large skillet, brown meat. Drain and add taco seasoning and water. Bring to a simmer. Allow to simmer until liquid is gone. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly. Meanwhile…In a large salad bowl, toss together beans, onions, avocado, tomato and Catalina dressing. In a smaller bowl, combine sour cream, dry Ranch, and salsa. Set aside.

Top the bean, tomato, avocado, onion and Catalina with the taco meat mixture. Add cheese, then the salsa/sour cream mixture. Spread evenly over cheese, next add the layer of lettuce, then corn chips. Top with a dollop of sour cream and chopped green onions.

Yields 8 – 10 servings.

**I buy block cheddar cheese and shred it myself. I use a combination of medium cheddar and extra sharp cheddar. **

***another note…you do not have to add the ground meat! Since you have the beans in the mixture, you have a meatiness to the salad. I added the meat to give it another layer of flavor and texture.***

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Layered Taco Salad

  1. Hope says:

    I worked in a cheese factory for a year to pay my way through college (yes I got paid to “cut the cheese”)…you are very smart to by the block cheese and shred it yourself. the shredded stuff wasn’t always handled in the most “hygenic” methods…

Leave a Reply

