Buffalo “Chicken” Sloppy Joe’s

In a quest to find something new, I discovered this recipe. I wanted to give it a try because it sounded really good! I learned that you have to tweak the sauce recipe for your tastes. I have more notes at the end of what I did to tweak the sauce. If you are trying to get your kids to eat their veggies, don’t make this for them! You can see the carrots and celery in the meat mixture. This is great because you get the “feel” of Buffalo wings without all the grease!

As I’ve said before, I used ground turkey. For this, though, I used ground turkey breast.  I also added dry Ranch dressing to the mixture while it simmered in the sauce. Reason being, The ChemE doesn’t like blue cheese. It ranks right up there with olives. And trust me, he can sense an olive hidden in food a mile away, no matter how finely chopped. I know. I tested that theory.

 

Here is the recipe!

Buffalo “Chicken” Sloppy Joe’s

2 tbs olive oil

2 lbs ground turkey breast (or if you can find it, chicken)

1 carrot, peeled and grated

2 stalks celery, finely chopped (including leafy part)

1 onion, finely chopped

2 to 3 cloves garlic, minced

1 package dry Ranch dressing (not the dip!)*Optional*

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

 

Sauce:

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1/4 to 1/3 cup hot sauce (recommended: Frank’s Red Hot)

1 cup tomato sauce

1 cup chicken stock

 

8 good quality burger rolls, split and toasted

1 cup blue cheese crumbles

8 dill pickle slices (I used the Valassic Ovals)

Directions:

Heat a large skillet with olive oil over medium-high heat. Add meat and break it up with wooden spoon, cook 3 to 4 minutes, add garlic and cook another minute or two. Add in onions, season with salt and freshly ground black pepper, cook 7 to 8 minutes more. Add celery and carrots, stir. Cook another 5 minutes, until chicken is completely done. In a bowl combine the vinegar, sugar, Worcestershire, hot sauce, tomato sauce and stock. Pour into the pan and stir to combine. Add the dry Ranch.  Simmer a few minutes more, until most liquid is gone. Pile filling onto buns and top with blue cheese and 2 sliced pickles.

 

Sauce tweaks

I discovered the sauce is not as hot as I thought it should be. I added nearly 3/4 of a bottle of sauce. HOWEVER!!! I may not have had good hot sauce. If you have a good hot sauce, then just test it as you go. I tested mine when I made it according to directions, and it wasn’t hot enough. I added a little more, then tested again. Rinse and repeat. However, I added a touch or two of the other ingredients as I went. You really have to use your judgement for the sauce. I did not add more vinegar to the mixture.

 

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

