A Take on Tacos

We will occasionally have Taco Tuesday around our house.

Tacos get boring, don’t you think? I do. Especially if you have kids who think tacos should only have ground meat. You can do chicken or steak…if you are luck enough to have children who are willing to try new things.

I am not that lucky.

So, in an effort to dress up my tacos one night, I tried something different. It turned out okay. But I tweaked it a bit last night and it was wonderful!

Here is the recipe.

A Take on Tacos

2 lbs ground turkey (As I always tell you, I use ground turkey, but you can use ground beef if you so choose.)

1- 5.5 fl oz can Spicy Hot V8 Juice (These are sold in packages of 6 in our local store)

1-10 oz can Ro-Tel tomatoes

1- 15.5 oz can chili beans, drained

1- 11 oz can Mexicorn, drained

1 package taco seasoning

In a large Dutch oven, brown the ground meat (season with Lawry’s season salt, or salt and pepper) over a medium high heat. Add the next 5 ingredients and stir. Watch closely, and stir as necessary to keep from burning. Bring to a simmer and allow to simmer until heated through. If it appears “soupy,” then allow it to simmer a little longer to reduce the liquid. It will thicken up upon standing, also.

I heated tortilla shells and served the tacos with shredded cheddar cheese ( not the bagged kind! I bought a block of cheese and shredded it myself), fresh jalepeno peppers, chopped green onions, chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce, salsa, and sour cream.

What wasn’t eaten will be frozen and used as a base for taco soup!

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Take on Tacos

  1. That sounds good! Have you ever tried Bobby Flay’s Fish taco. We love ’em. You can find the recipe at http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/fish-tacos-recipe/index.html

    ~Mari

Leave a Reply

