Creamy Salsa Chicken

I found a recipe last night I wanted to try. I was very excited because it sounded delicious! However, I didn’t have enough of one component of the recipe. Of all things, it was rice! So, I wandered around my kitchen island thinking out loud. And came up with this recipe.

Creamy Salsa Chicken

4 – 5 large boneless chicken breasts, cooked and cubed (I seasoned mine with salt and pepper and baked in the oven)

1 small can cream of mushroom soup, undiluted

1 small can cream of chicken soup, undiluted

1 cup salsa (your choice. I used Black Bean and Corn salsa)

1 small onion chopped

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

2 cups shredded Montery Jack cheese

6 large Cheddar and Jalapeno tortilla shells, sliced into strips

In a large bowl, combine soups, salsa, onion and cooked chicken. In another bowl, combine cheeses. In a 13×9 baking dish, place a layer of tortilla strips, chicken and soup mixture, and cheese. Repeat for a second layer. Place a few strips on top of 2nd layer of cheese and top with a little salsa. Bake at 350*F until soup is bubbly and cheese is melted.

I served this with a green salad. Everyone, including my extremely picky children enjoyed this casserole!

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

