Almost Heaven, West Virginia

This past week, the ChemE and I got to go on a trip without any children.

Yes, you read that right. No kids.

I missed them as soon as we pulled out of the driveway.

Sad, huh?

I don’t handle airplanes very well. Okay, I panic. Thankfully, I had The ChemE’s arm to hang on to. As I cried. Silently.

We made it to our destination almost 12 hours after we left the house. The ChemE had some meetings at the plant in West Virginia. I have never gone on a trip with him. In all the years we have been married, either my work or the children, have needed me at home. So, this time, we asked my mom and dad to come stay with the kids, and we went on a vacation!

Thursday were meetings. Friday and Saturday were our days together. I took a lot of pictures. Lots of pictures. So, I am going to break this up into a couple of posts so that I don’t overwhelm you with my photography. ‘Cause I’m nice like that.

We stayed at a bed and breakfast on the campus of Davis and Elkins College. It was beautiful! It is called The Graceland Inn. I’ll post pictures of the room later. We were on the 3rd floor, in a suite. Our room faced west and overlooked the town. And we had a great view of the mountains.

We went on a driving tour of the area on Friday. It was fabulous!!! We headed toward Thomas, WV and this is what we saw as we came up the mountain.

These are windmills near Thomas. They are on the side of the mountain! I don’t remember how many of them there are, but they were gorgeous! We couldn’t stop and take pictures. But, as we were heading toward Blackwater Falls, I saw them in the distance. I made The ChemE stop so I could take a hazy picture!

We went on to Blackwater Falls and WOW! What a beautiful sight!

During the spring, when the snow melts and the spring rains come, this waterfall gushes. I wish we could have seen that! I bet it is beautiful!!

After Blackwater falls, we went to Canaan ski resort. There wasn’t much to it. No snow.

We drove on to Seneca Rocks. WOW! Just WOW!

After Seneca Rocks, we drove back to the Inn and hung out until supper. Which was at the Cheat River Inn. It was beyond delicious!

Until next time!!!!

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

