Mexican Chicken Cornbread

Last night, I wanted to make my Mexican cornbread, but I really didn’t want to use ground turkey. Or ground beef. Especially ground beef.

I don’t have any.

I did have chicken. Lots of chicken.

So, here goes!

Mexican Chicken Cornbread

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (roasted)

1 bag of seasoned corn and black beans. (Frozen section of grocery store)

1 can of Ro-tel tomatoes

8oz. shredded cheddar cheese

2 packages Texas Honey Cornbread mix. (Or your own cornbread batter) (If you use the mix, follow the directions!)

To start, I seasoned the chicken with olive oil and Cinnamon Chipolte rub. Baked it at 425*F for 30 minutes. While that is roasting, cook the corn/beans and tomatoes according to the directions. Remove from the heat and place in a cast iron skillet. Remove the chicken from the oven and dice. Put the chicken in the cast iron skillet and top with shredded cheddar cheese. Make the cornbread according to directions and top the chicken mixture. Bake at 425* for 10 – 12 minutes or until the cornbread is done.

Enjoy!!

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

