Day 5!!! Project 365

Whew…. Day 5 leads us to Thursday. Today.

Last night was crazy. I found out that the awards assembly was actually scheduled for today and not Friday like I originally thought. I had to find someone to keep my students for me so I could go see my oldest get an award. We knew he wasn’t getting an honor roll award, but I had gotten a note that said he was getting something. I have a wonderful, wonderful friend who graciously agreed to keep my students. (I think she secretly loves keeping my classes because she loves little ones)

I waited and waited and waited to see what award he would get. The school makes the students be self disciplined. I love that! They have what are known as SAR. Student Accomplishment Record. The student deducts points from their SAR if they are not where they are supposed to be, forget their homework, have gum, are disrespectful to others, etc. Students who maintain a 90 average for the 9 weeks are recognized and given a treat. The principal decided that those students who maintain a 95 average for the 9 weeks needed special recognizition. So they created the ROC. Really Outstanding Citizen award. The teachers put the names of the students who have maintained a 95 or above average in a “hat” and pull 2 names. At the awards assembly, those students are recognized.

And today, my sweet big boy, who did not make honor roll and was beyond embarrassed about it was honored for being a “Really Outstanding Citizen.” I could not have been prouder of him!

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 5!!! Project 365

  1. Hope Bragg says:

    sounds like you have a way awesome friend! She really does love the little ones! I kid you not when I say she relates better to them then the older kids. Perhaps you should join her for dinner at her house one of these days with all your entourage!

Leave a Reply

