Vegetable Beef Soup

So it has been a while since I blogged. Please forgive me. The holidays intruded as did my children.

Curse them.

Not really. I kind of like having them around.

You know…to run errands and things.

Last night was cold. I mean, really, it should not get this cold in the South. Hello…South!?  I mean, come on. We’re known for our ladies who perspire and sit on the veranda drinking sweet tea with lemon and mint. (and often with something a little stronger than sugar), fanning themselves with their big, floppy hats, gossiping about Bettye Lou stepping out on the town with Billy Bob. It is not supposed to be less than 60*F here. But alas, The Good Lord had other plans for us and it was below 30*F here. Brrrrrrrr…

I had decided to make Vegetable Beef Soup yesterday morning and made my plans known to the ChemE. Who immediately turned to me and said, “You know the “BIG GAME” is on tonight, right? Are you going to make some cheese dip and meatballs, too?”

Me: “Sure Honey. That’ll go great with Vegetable Beef Soup.”

The ChemE: “I know. Thanks.”

Me: *SIGH*

So here is what I did:

Oh, and by the way, I used ground turkey instead of beef. So I guess it should be Vegetable Turkey Soup, but that just sounds weird. Certainly, you can use ground beef instead of ground turkey. And if you do, I would recommend using a 60/40 or 93/7 so you don’t have so much fat. Yeah, I don’t know the name of the individual cuts of meat. I just go by what is on the sticker.

Vegetable Beef Soup

2 lbs ground turkey

1 medium onion, chopped

1 medium bell pepper, chopped

olive oil (just to coat the bottom of the pan)

1 envelope Onion Mushroom soup mix

1 envelope Onion soup mix

1 envelope dry Ranch dressing mix. (not the dip mix!)

1 large bag of frozen mixed veggies

1 15 oz can of tomato sauce

1 32 oz box of beef broth

1 10.5 oz can beef consomme

salt and pepper, to taste

In a large Dutch oven, warmed over a medium high heat, add 2 turns of olive oil. Add ground turkey and begin to brown. Add onions and peppers to almost browned meat. Cook together for 10 minutes. Add beef broth, beef consomme, tomato sauce, frozen veggies, dry soup mixes and dry ranch. Stir to mix and allow to come to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until veggies are done, about 30 minutes.

Enjoy it!

About Jamie

I am the mom of 3 beautiful children and one fabulous husband. I have 2 boys and 1 very spoiled little girl. What is even more spectacular, I get to stay home and take care of these great people!! Life is pretty darn good and I am truly blessed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

